Tags

, , ,

It’s not because I’m bored or not doing anything… I guess it’s just that the more familiar I become with China, the less there is that stands out to me as blog-worthy. But I’ve been here for almost two weeks now, so I suppose I should at least post some of the highlights and some pictures.

Photos 1-2: People’s Park (人民公园). A large, famous, and centrally-located park in Shanghai. The surrounding area is home to People’s Square (人民广场), the Shanghai Museum (上海博物馆), and both East and West Nanjing Road (南京东路 and 南京西路). In my first week here, I went to People’s Park twice to do homework. I suppose I’ll probably go back at least one more time to shop and maybe go to the museum.

Photos 3-6: Evening in Shanghai and “Square Dancing” (广场舞). I like it here at night because most of the buildings have lights on them, and it’s so pretty. One of my classmates showed me a great place to walk along Suzhou Creek (苏州河) near where we both live – I like to go there at night, but instead of walking the whole way, I usually stop to watch the people dancing and see all the dogs that people brought with them. One of my favorite things to do is get out before they turn on all the lights, and watch as each building gets lit up!

Photos 7-10: Jing’an Temple (静安寺). There’s actually a subway stop here, and I pass right through it on my way to and from the Hutong School, so I figured I probably should go and see it! The ticket was more expensive than I thought (50 kuai, not 30 like the Internet said…), but I’m still glad I went. It was pretty and interesting. But it felt really weird to be in a Buddhist temple while being able to hear car horns and see skyscrapers and modern stores.

That’s it for now because I’m tired and want to go to bed so I’m not late for class in the morning. Hope you got something out of this terribly boring post, haha. Good night!

[no gallery]

