Tags

, , , , , ,

Last night I went with the Hutong School on a night walk through Shanghai! We started in the Yuyuan Garden (豫园) area and ended in Xintiandi (新天地). There were so many lights and people! We passed some “Square Dancing” (广场舞) – NOT like the type they do in Texas, though… It’s called Square Dancing because it’s a bunch of people dancing in a square or public park. We also passed some people who had set themselves up some karaoke, with a microphone and a screen propped up on a motorbike and everything!

While we were walking, I finally located some postcards! I’ll definitely be going back there to do some shopping. And I also saw several modern/Western stores and restaurants such as Starbucks, McDonalds, Pizza Hut, and Dairy Queen located in very traditional-looking Chinese buildings. Attached are some pictures where you can (kind of) see a McDonalds and a Dairy Queen. As we walked, I chatted with other Hutong School students of all ages and from all around the world – the UK, Germany, Italy, France, and the Netherlands, as far as I can remember! So far I haven’t met any other Americans or even any Canadians…

Our final stop was a small museum. I learned nothing because I was too exhausted to read anything haha. But the last picture attached to this post is a building near the museum – it’s the building where the Chinese Communist Party had its first meeting. Anyway, when we were done, I grabbed a drink at Starbucks, then took a taxi to the Hutong School and then the subway home. I was going to make these posts last night but my bed was just so comfortable!! Oooh but speaking of Starbucks, there’s one right across from the subway stop at school…. another wonderful breakfast option!

[no gallery]

