Tags

, , , ,

I meant to make this post a week ago as I was actually packing to come home, but since I didn’t have time, I’m making it now.

And, I feel like the title of this post is probably true even if you’re the most homesick person in the world, because packing is still a big and stressful job. For me, it was true because I knew I was going to miss my host family… And I do. They are some of the most amazing people I have ever met, and I think I could make a strong case for best host family of this trip, if not best host family ever. They took such good care of me and treated me like part of their family. I plan on keeping in contact with them, and I hope to be able to see them again sometime in the future.

Two last stories about Suzhou before I’m off this blog for a while: My last week there, I tried a new supermarket that I had somehow failed to find in my first 5 weeks. As I was leaving it, I passed a tea stall and thought, “It’s a good thing I didn’t buy tea from that other supermarket; this place looks better!” So I stopped and asked the guy, “How much is Oolong tea?” He told me he had many kinds of Oolong tea for all different prices, so I pointed to one that looked good. When he told me I should sit and try it, I tried to explain to him that I wasn’t buying it for myself, but to bring it home for a friend in America. He told me to sit and try it anyway, so I did. He didn’t speak English, so I did my best to get through conversations in Chinese while constantly checking my phone, freaking out that I’d get home late and my family would worry about me. Finally, I told him I had to leave, so he sold me my tea and told me that if I had time, I should come back with some of my classmates. My classmates never had time, but I did go back, twice, partly because I had to visit the supermarket again and partly because I wanted to talk with my new friend some more before I left Suzhou for goodness knows how long. I love making friends in China, and I felt especially proud of myself for making friends with “Tea Guy” (whose real name I won’t share on a public Internet blog) since I had to speak Chinese to do so.

Second story, Typhoon Haikui visited us on the Wednesday of our last week in Suzhou. School was cancelled that day, and we were instructed to stay inside our own host families’s homes; if we had to go outside, we could go only with our host parents and had to notify our resident director first. Now, I understand that our resident director and American Councils were responsible for our well-being, but seriously, we’re honor students. I don’t think we’re going to go dance in the streets in the middle of a typhoon, thanks. School was almost cancelled Thursday, as well, but the typhoon stopped, and so I woke up at about 7:30am to a text from my resident director informing us that school would start at 9am. FANTASTIC. But whatever.

So yeah, that’s about it, and it’ll probably be it for a while, unless something extremely unique and intriguing happens on our class trip to DC this fall. Thanks to everyone for reading, and I hope at least something that I typed was interesting or educational or insightful. 🙂

