Tags

,

image

Today has been just as much of an adventure as I’m sure the rest of this trip will be. I arrived at the Washington Reagan Airport 20 minutes early, at about 10:40am; I was the second of 40 students to arrive here in DC. When I got to the hotel around 11:30, my room wasn’t ready yet (and wasn’t until closer to 4pm), so I walked down the street to a little cafe to find some lunch and then settled down in the hotel lobby to wait for more NSLI-Y people to show up. We had a great time getting to know each other, chatting and going out in groups to see what was around our hotel. We had dinner at 5:30… and CHEESECAKE. 😀 After dinner, we did some activities to get to know each other. There are people from all over: California, New York, Georgia, Oklahoma, Wisconsin, even Alaska! I was so excited about meeting all of them, and I can’t wait to get to know everybody better. Our resident director, Claire, seems really great too. Tomorrow we have to be ready to leave the hotel at 8:25 to walk to the American Councils office for more orientation. On Wednesday, our bus pulls out of the hotel at 4:30am for our 8:10am flight to Shanghai. That said, I’m about to go figure out how to get myself ready for bed without having to unpack my entire suitcase… Everyone else is hanging out, but I got only about 4 hours of sleep last night and want to kick this cough before I meet my host family on Thursday. I’m so excited!!

